Overblog
Edit post Follow this blog Administration + Create my blog

Instant Pot White Rice - A Delicious Side Dish

The first time I made Instant Pot White Rice I was a bit worried that it would not come out right but I did my research and I was very pleased with the results. This is my favorite meal to prepare for dinner because you can use the cooker as a serving dish instead of cooking the meal. And you can eat it right out of the cooker. How to make Instant Pot instant white rice: Place 2 cups dry rice along with 2 cups water in a medium saucepan. Bring to a gentle boil and then reduce heat to medium-low and simmer for 10 minutes. Natural release from the cooker for about 10 minutes until the rice is done.

For the next step I decided to go with two different varieties of rice; long-grain white rice and Basmati rice. I found that both had their little secrets. Long grain white rice has more starch and is healthier since it is made of whole grains. It is also better for you because it will keep longer. Also, if you choose the flavor your want it will add a real depth to the dish. If you are new to cooking with instant pots the long grain rice will take longer but it is worth it! After simmering on low for about five minutes I quickly took a knife and quickly added about one tablespoon of dried minced onion, chopped celery and green onions, and a small pinch of dried thyme. Then I added about two cups of water and set the cooker to medium heat. I let this cook for about ten minutes on high. When the timer said it was ready I quickly removed the contents from the cooker, added a splash of lemon juice, and pressed on the power button.

I followed the directions and my rice was done in less than forty minutes! Now I found that my favorite Indian recipe called for half as much rice as I had in the Instant Pot. However, I used half and ended up with eight cups of beautiful, fluffy Indian instant pot white rice. As delicious as that side dish was it was also very filling and healthy for me. If you are looking for a healthy quick meal, try cooking rice in an electric rice cooker. You will not only be cooking it quickly but you will save time and effort while cooking it! Try some of my other Indian recipes in the free e-book, Cook For Quick Eats: How I Made Delicious basmati rice instant pot!

To know more about this topic, read here: https://www.huffpost.com/entry/how-to-cook-rice_n_7463254.

To be informed of the latest articles, subscribe:
Comment on this post